Art Buzz: London

sculptor Antony Gormley

The stunning works on view at Frieze and Frieze Masters in Regents Park last week have gotten us in the mood for art.  London has some amazing shows on this autumn in museums and galleries and here’s the Luxury Travel Advisor take on what not to miss, of course, with some dining ideas nearby.

Abstract Expressionism, at the Royal Academy, an enchanting show that will leave you breathless, room after room of paintings and sculptures from the likes of Pollock, Rothko, de Kooning, and others, a truly captivating collection of one of the most important art movements of the twentieth century.  Booking essential, until January 2, https://www.royalacademy.org.uk/exhibition/abstract-expressionism. Favourite eats nearby, London’s best steak at Hawksmoor Air Street, http://thehawksmoor.com/locations/airstreet/, or for any meal from winning breakfast to high tea or gorgeous cocktails, The Wolseley, https://www.thewolseley.com/.

Getting rave reviews is “The Infinite Mix” a video installation taking place at 180 The Strand, an unused office block, a collaboration between the Vinyl Factory and Southbank’s Hayward Gallery, this free exhibition is ten videos mixing art, music and even some documentary.  Free entry and on until December 4, http://theinfinitemix.com/  For a bite nearby, try The Delauany, a classical European cafe with a Viennese vibe, open all-day with stellar breakfast, scrumptious pastries, Schnitzel and brats and kraut.  https://www.thedelaunay.com/

Free Luxury Travel Newsletter

Like this story? Subscribe to The Dossier

Luxury Travel Advisor’s only newsletter, covering unique destinations and product news for affluent travelers. Delivered every Tuesday & Thursday.

View works from this year’s Turner Prize finalists at the Tate Britain, this honor is awarded annually to an artist under fifty, born, living or working in Britain, for an outstanding exhibition of their work anywhere in the world in the previous year.  The final four include, Michael Dean, Helen Martin, Josephine Pryde and our favorite, Anthea Hamilton who’s pieces include a giant butt sculpture. Tickets essential, book online http://www.tate.org.uk/whats-on/tate-britain/exhibition/turner-prize-2016.  Located in a bit of a foodie dead zone, the museum has a decent cafe, or venture a little ways into Pimlico for unmissable dim sum at A Wong, http://awong.co.uk/.

Renowned English sculptor Antony Gormley has a tremendous show on at White Cube in Bermondsey, http://whitecube.com/exhibitions/antony_gormley_bermondsey_2016/, a fantastic one for kids, his works of steel resemble people and there is even a long, human shaped tunnel you can walk inside. Free, and on until November 6.  Spoiled for choice of eats, for a fun London food experience, check out the abundance of stalls and traders at Borough Market, http://boroughmarket.org.uk/, or just nearby the gallery in Bermondsey is lovely French Casse Croute, www.cassecroute.co.uk or high quality tapas at Jose, http://www.josepizarro.com/jose-tapas-bar/.

For visitors here now, a fun installation is the series of lighted, oversize seesaws in Leicester Square https://heartoflondonbid.london/leicester-square-gardens-to-become-interactive-illuminated-playground/ on until October 27 and the incredible exhibit of works by Georgia O’Keefe on at the Tate Modern until October 30, http://www.tate.org.uk/whats-on/tate-modern/exhibition/georgia-okeeffe.

 

Photos by: Emily Goldfischer

Suggested Articles:

Sansiveri will be based in New York City and responsible for sourcing, developing and account managing the business for the East Coast. More here.

Malliouhana, Auberge Resorts Collection will reopen November 1 with a new look and host of new amenities and programming. Read more here.

The U.K. and the European Union (E.U.) have reached another Brexit deal, which must now be approved by the U.K. and E.U. Parliaments. More here.