Winners Revealed for James Beard Foundation Awards

We're excited to hear that The James Beard Foundation has announced the winners of the 2011 James Beard Foundation Book, Broadcast and Journalism Awards at an exclusive invitation-only dinner this past Friday at Espace in New York City.

Co-hosted by Gail Simmons, Food & Wine magazine’s Special Projects Director and Bravo’s Top Chef: Just Desserts host and Top Chef judge, and Ted Allen, Emmy Award-winner, host of the Food Network series Chopped and author, awards were presented to winners of the Book, Broadcast Media and Journalism categories.

A complete list of winners can be found here but highlights of this year’s winners included:
American Cooking Cookbook: Pig: King of the Southern Table by James Villas (John Wiley & Sons)
General Cooking Cookbook: The Essential New York Times Cook Book: Classic Recipes for a New Century by Amanda Hesser (W.W. Norton & Company) M.F.K.
Fisher Distinguished Writing Award: Jonathan Gold, LA Weekly, “A Movable Beast”
Audio Webcast or Radio Show: GrapeRadio, Hosts: Eric Anderson, Brian Clark, and Jay Selman
Producers: Mark Ryan and Jay Selman
Television Program, In Studio or Fixed Location: Top Chef: Season 7, Host: Padma Lakshmi, Network: Bravo, Producers: Tom Colicchio, Dan Cutforth, Jane Lipsitz, and Dave Serwatka
Television Program, On Location: Avec Eric, Host: Eric Ripert, Network: PBS, Online, Producers: Justin Barocas, Heather Brown, and Geoffrey Drummond
TV Food Personality/Host: Alton Brown, Show: Good Eats, Network: Food Network Food Section of a General Interest Publication: San Francisco Chronicle, Jon Bonné and Miriam Morgan
Craig Claiborne Distinguished Restaurant Review: Patric Kuh, Los Angeles “Animal Magnetism,” “Making Their Move,” “Time for a Redo?”
Group Food Blog: Grub Street New York,, Daniel Maurer, Jenny Miller, and Alan Sytsma

The Book Award judges (more than 40 in total) are comprised of editors, authors, journalists, and culinary educators who have not published a culinary book during the current Awards year. The Broadcast Media Award judges (more than 28 in total) are comprised of producers, educators, editors and print journalists.

Journalism Award judges (more than 70 in total) are comprised of working editors, journalists (not covering food and beverage topics), retired food and beverage editors and writers, and deans and professors of leading journalism colleges.

The Restaurant and Chef, Restaurant Design and Graphics, and special achievement awards will be announced on Monday, May 9, 2011 at the Awards Ceremony and Gala Reception, the highly-anticipated annual celebration taking place at Avery Fisher Hall at Lincoln Center, hosted by James Beard Award-winners Tom Colicchio, Ming Tsai and Traci Des Jardins.