The Latest African Travel Restrictions Due to Coronavirus

There are 591 confirmed coronavirus (COVID-19) cases and counting in Africa, according to the World Health Organization; most of these are in Egypt, South Africa, Algeria and Morocco. Like many other destinations across the world, countries in Africa are closing their borders to help prevent further spreading of coronavirus. Here’s the latest.


The Government of Botswana has banned entry of all individuals (except residents) from coming to Botswana from the following high-risk countries: China, Japan, South Korea, Iran, USA, UK Austria, Belgium, Denmark, France, Germany, Italy, Netherlands, Norway, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland and India. It adds that travelers should be prepared for additional travel restrictions to be put into effect with little or no advance notice.


Djibouti has yet to record a single case, but it has suspended announced the suspension of all passenger flights to and from the destinations, effective March 18.


Egypt has announced a suspension of all air travel, both international and domestic, starting at noon on Thursday March 19, 2020 until March 31, 2020.  Travelers should check with their airlines regarding any updated information about travel plans and/or restrictions. There are currently 166 confirmed cases in Egypt.


Ghana, with seven confirmed cases, strongly discourages all travel to Ghana until further notice. Any traveler, except for Ghanaian citizens and persons with Ghana residence permits, who, within the last 14 days, has been to a country that has recorded at least 200 cases of COVID-19, will not be admitted to Ghana. Airlines are instructed not to allow such persons to embark; border posts are instructed not to allow such persons into the jurisdiction.

There will be a mandatory 14-day self-quarantine for persons who are allowed to enter the Ghanaian jurisdiction. Guidelines for self-quarantine will be available at the various Ghanaian ports of entry; persons determined to be unable to satisfactorily self-quarantine will be quarantined by the State. Any admissible traveler who exhibits symptoms of COVID-19 will be quarantined and tested upon reaching Ghana.


As of March 17, Kenya has seven confirmed cases of COVID-19 within its borders. The government of Kenya is suspending travel for all persons coming into Kenya from any country with reported COVID-19 cases. Only Kenyan Citizens and any foreigners with valid residence permits will be allowed to enter, provided they proceed on self-quarantine or to a government designated quarantine facility. The rules will be in effect for a month, according to


The Government of Morocco has announced the closure of all international travel in and out of the country. Passenger ferry services are also suspended; in addition, land borders with Ceuta and Melilla are closed.


The Government of Namibia declared a State of Emergency on March 17 in response to COVID-19 and announced the suspension of the issuance of visas on arrival at the Hosea Kutako International Airport and the implementation of a travel ban on foreign nationals (by air and sea) from affected countries, including Schengen states, China, Iran, Korea, the United Kingdom, the United States of America, and Japan. Mandatory screening for COVID-19 will be conducted at all ports of entry and roadblocks will be established to screen inland travelers. Additionlly, all returning Namibians and permanent residents arriving from affected countries will be subject to a 14-day supervised self-quarantine.


Nigeria is restricting entry into the country for travelers from countries with more than 1,000 cases; they include China, Italy, Iran, South Korea, Spain, Japan, France, Germany, the United States, Norway, UK, Netherlands and Switzerland, the Nigeria Centre for Disease Control said on Twitter.

Travelers should arrive in Nigeria with their yellow World Health Organization Immunization Record and will be subject to all preexisting health requirements such as proof of yellow fever vaccination. Upon arrival, travelers will also be asked to complete a questionnaire regarding their current state of health, recent travel locations and recent sick contacts.

South Africa

In South Africa, travel ban on foreign nationals from high-risk countries, including Italy, Iran, South Korea, Spain, Germany, the United States, the United Kingdom and China, is in effect as of March 18. Additionally, South Africa has cancelled visas to visitors from the above countries and revoked previously granted visas.

Of the 53 land ports, 35 were be shut by Monday March 16, and two of the eight seaports will be closed for passengers and crew changes, South Africa President Cyril Ramaphosa said in a statement


Sudan has sealed off all seaports, land crossings and airports, CNN reports.


Beginning March 18, Tunisia will temporarily suspend all incoming and outgoing commercial flights to Tunisia. Travelers are encouraged to contact their airline for rebooking assistance. The Ministry of Health’s requirement for 14-day self-isolation of all arriving passengers, regardless of citizenship or departure country, remains in effect.


On March 7, the Uganda Ministry of Health imposed self-quarantine requirements for asymptomatic travelers and in-hospital isolation requirements for all symptomatic travelers arriving in Uganda after recent stays (within 14 days of arrival) in several countries most seriously impacted by COVID-19. These countries include Italy, San Marino, Iran, South Korea, France, China, Germany, Spain, Belgium, the U.S., U.K., Netherlands, Sweden, Norway,  Austria and Malaysia.


Zambia is not denying entry to any foreign nationals, regardless of nationality or place of origin. The government, however, has announced increased screenings at airports and other border entry points, in addition to 14-day monitoring for persons at high risk of COVID-19.

Related Articles

The Latest Travel Restrictions in the Caribbean

Report From Paris: Coronavirus In France

Thailand Enacts Shutdowns to Curb Spread of Coronavirus

Border Closures and Flight Cuts In Central and South America