American Airlines Extends Flight Suspension to Hong Kong Through March 27

American Airlines has announced that it will extend the suspension of flights to Hong Kong from its Los Angeles hub through March 27, citing a “reduction in demand.” Flights to Hong Kong from Dallas – Fort Worth are scheduled to resume on February 21. 

American said that it will run a formal schedule change on February 9 and contact affected customers directly. Customers on cancelled flights who opt not to rebook can request a full refund at 

A reduction in demand for air travel to Hong Kong and China since the onset of the coronavirus outbreak has caused a number of airlines to reduce or modify their schedules. Most recently, as reported by our sister publication Travel Agent, Air China began seeking permission to begin flying a Beijing – Los Angeles – San Francisco route and a Beijing – New York – Washington route, which would allow it to drop flights to Houston and Newark, New Jersey, as well as flights between Los Angeles and Shenzhen. 

Delta has temporarily suspended all flights between the United States and China and United Airlines has suspended all flights to Beijing, Chengdu and Shanghai through March 28. 

A number of new travel restrictions on international flights are also in place due to the outbreak. All foreign nationals who have traveled to mainland China within the past 14 days will be denied permission to travel to the United States. Additionally, any U.S. citizen or lawful U.S. permanent resident returning to the United States who has traveled to mainland China within the previous 14 days will need to enter the U.S. through one of the following approved airports:

  • Atlanta: Hartsfield–Jackson Atlanta International Airport (ATL)
  • Dallas/Fort Worth: Dallas/Fort Worth International Airport (DFW) Beginning Feb. 3 at 7:30 a.m. ET
  • Detroit: Detroit Metropolitan Airport (DTW) Beginning Feb. 3 at 7:30 a.m. ET
  • Newark, NJ: Newark Liberty International Airport (EWR) Beginning Feb. 3 at 6:30 a.m. ET
  • Honolulu: Daniel K. Inouye International Airport (HNL)
  • New York City: John F. Kennedy International Airport (JFK)
  • Los Angeles: Los Angeles International Airport (LAX)
  • Chicago: Chicago O’Hare International Airport (ORD)
  • Seattle: Seattle-Tacoma International Airport (SEA)
  • San Francisco: San Francisco International Airport (SFO)
  • Washington, D.C.: Washington-Dulles International Airport (IAD)

Additionally, citizens who have been to China’s Hubei province within the past 14 days will be subject to a 14-day quarantine, while those who have been anywhere in China within the past 14 days will be subject to a self-quarantine. Airlines have been directed to ask travelers arriving on international flights whether or not they have been to China within the past 14 days. 

There are currently over 24,500 cases of the coronavirus diagnosed in 25 countries worldwide, according to the latest numbers from the World Health Organization. There have been 492 deaths from the disease thus far, all except one in China. 

This article originally appeared on

Related Articles

Coronavirus: U.S. Adds New Travel Restrictions, Screenings

Coronavirus: Delta, American Suspend All Flights to China

10 More Diamond Princess Guests Confirmed with Coronavirus

Coronavirus: HAL, Seabourn, RCL Make Itinerary Changes