E.U. Prepares to Lift Travel Restrictions for Americans

European Union flag
Photo by sharrocks/iStock/Getty Images Plus/Getty Images

Semi-officially, Americans can again visit the European Union (E.U.) without an “essential purpose."

On Friday, the European Council recommended the bloc lift travel restrictions on non-essential travel from 14 countries, including the United States. Additional countries listed include Albania, Australia, Israel, Japan, Lebanon, New Zealand, Republic of North Macedonia, Rwanda, Serbia, Singapore, South Korea, Thailand and China. According the CNN, the gradual reopenings would be “subject to confirmation of reciprocity.”

According to the European Council, the above countries were approved due to their "epidemiological situation and overall response to COVID-19, as well as the reliability of the available information and data sources." In addition, the United States recently set up “expert working groups” with the European Union (along with Canada, Mexico and the U.K.) to safely restart travel. So, it would appear the U.S. is willing to reopen its borders to travelers from these destinations.

Virtual Event

Pivoting Back to Travel, The Destination Weddings & Honeymoons Edition

2020 put the nuptial plans of thousands upon thousands of couples on hold, but with the promise of widespread vaccine distribution in the near future, it’s time to get back to planning and ensure your clients live out the destination weddings & honeymoons of their dreams. Hear from top suppliers and destinations on wedding venue & ceremony options, romantic destinations & resorts and more when you watch the event on-demand.

Note: While the E.U. is recommending to its member states to reopen to the select international visitors, the final say will still be given to each country. Some countries—France, Spain, Greece, Portugal, Malta and Croatia included—have already opened to Americans with their own set of requirements and protocols. Requirements such as proof of vaccination, a negative PCR test or even a quarantine period may still be implemented by the member countries.

Back in April, the E.U. announced that fully vaccinated Americans would be able to visit the bloc this summer, although no reopening date was set at the time.

NPR reports that the European Union has continued to work on a joint digital travel certificate for those vaccinated or recently tested or recovered from the virus. The free certificate, which will contain a QR code with advanced security features, would allow travelers to move about the bloc without having to quarantine or undergo additional testing after the initial arrival. Belgium, Spain, Germany, Greece, Bulgaria, Croatia, the Czech Republic, Denmark and Poland all reportedly already use the program, with the rest expected to start using it July 1.

This article originally appeared on www.travelagentcentral.com.

Related Articles

Malta Reopens to to U.S. on State-by-State Basis

Portugal Is Now Open to Americans With Negative COVID Test

Monaco Has Reopened to North American Travelers

Travel Between U.S. and U.K. Could Be on the Horizon

Suggested Articles:

Travelers will be required to take a COVID-19 RT-PCR, NAA, RNA or Antigen test within three days of travel.

Six Senses Shaharut will have just 60 suites and villas spread across the desert landscape and will be home to a signature spa. Check it out.

Wheels Up members to receive exclusive benefits and curated experiences from the luxury travel experts at Abercrombie & Kent. Here's more.